Special, regular, and national holidays for 2022

The holidays for 2022 have been scheduled; read further to note the changes to the usual holidays due to the effects of Covid-19

Special, regular, and national holidays for 2022

The holidays have been set for 2022 as President Rodrigo Duterte signs Proclamation No. 1236 on October 29, 2021, where he declared the regular, special, and non-working holidays for the whole year. 

Due to the Covid-19 pandemic, November 2 (All Souls' Day), December 24 (Christmas Eve), and December 31 (New Year's Eve) were designated as special working days. This was done to help boost “economic productivity” and counteract the pandemic’s effect on the Philippine market.

The president is still scheduled to announce two other proclamations for the Islamic holidays, Eid’l Fitr and Eid’l Adha, since these dates have not yet been determined in alignment with the Islamic calendar.

The announcement made no changes to the previous list created under Proclamation No. 1107, which was signed on Feb. 26, 2021.

The lists below show the regular and special holidays for 2022:

Regular holidays

Jan. 1 (Saturday) - New Year's Day

April 9 (Saturday) - Araw ng Kagitingan (Day of Valor)

April 14 - Maundy Thursday

April 15 - Good Friday

May 1 (Sunday) - Labor Day

June 12 (Sunday) - Independence Day

Aug. 29 (Monday) - National Heroes' Day

Nov. 30 (Wednesday) - Bonifacio Day

Dec. 25 (Sunday) - Christmas Day

Dec. 30 (Friday) - Rizal Day


Special non-working days

Feb. 1 (Tuesday) - Chinese New Year

Feb. 25 (Friday) - EDSA People Power Revolution Anniversary

April 16 - Black Saturday

Aug. 21 (Sunday) - Ninoy Aquino Day

Nov. 1 (Tuesday) - All Saints' Day

Dec. 8 (Thursday) - Feast of the Immaculate Conception of Mary


Special working days

Nov. 2 (Wednesday) - All Souls’ Day

Dec. 24 (Saturday) - Christmas Eve

Dec. 31 (Saturday) - Last Day of the Year