Regular, special and non-working holidays for 2023

We've listed down all the holidays for 2023; Read further to learn more about why certain holidays are being emphasized.

Holidays in 2023 were declared by President Ferdinand "Bongbong" Marcos Jr. in Proclamation No. 42, s. 2022 on August 21, 2023. It listed down all the regular, special, and non-working holidays for the year.

The commemoration of the 37th anniversary of the Edsa People Power Revolution has emphasized in the declaration since it is quote, "which ushered political, social and economic reforms in the country.”

Furthermore, it also declares that Black Saturday on April 8, 2023, is now a special non-working day in the entire country in adherence to the Holy Week, which is quoted as being "one of the most cherished traditions of our predominantly Catholic people.”

All the holidays for 2023 are as follows:

Regular holidays

January 1 (Sunday) – New Year’s Day
April 9 (Sunday) – Araw ng Kagitingan
April 6 – Maundy Thursday
April 7 – Good Friday
May 1 (Monday) – Labor Day
June 12 (Monday) – Independence Day
August 28 (last Monday of August) – National Heroes Day
November 30 (Thursday) – Bonifacio Day
December 25 (Monday) – Christmas Day
December 30 (Saturday) – Rizal Day

Special Non-Working Days

February 25 (Saturday) – EDSA People Power Revolution Anniversary
April 8 – Black Saturday
August 21 (Monday) – Ninoy Aquino Day
November 1 (Wednesday) – All Saints' Day
December 8 (Friday) – Feast of the Immaculate Concepcion of Mary
December 31 (Sunday) - Last Day of the Year

Additional Special Non-Working Day

November 2 (Thursday) - All Souls' Day